OT: 6 December 1924 – [unsigned] “Scottish Pipers’ Association, Glasgow [competition results]

The Oban Times, 6 December, 1924

Scottish Pipers’ Association, Glasgow

The annual competition took place in the Pearce Institute, Govan, on Saturday last. Sir Iain Colquhoun, D.S.O., Rossdhu, presided, and he was supported by Mr. Percy Thomson, secretary, Highland Club; ex-Bailie Arch. Campbell, Mr. McKenzie, the Hotel, Lochboisdale; Mr. McGregor Murray, Inverness; Pipe-Major J. McDougall Gillies, president, Pipers’ Association; Pipe-Major J. Mckenzie, Govan; Pipe-Major Wm. Gray, Glasgow Police Pipe Band; acts-Pipe-Major A. Hutchison, Govan Police Pipe Band; Pipe-Major Shepherd, Eddleswood Pipe Band; Pipe-Major A. McPhedran, 5th H.L.I., Glasgow; Pipe-Major D. Gray, Singers’ Pipe Band; Pipe-Major J. Swanson, 9th H.L.I., ex-Pipe-Major D. McDougall, late 8th Scottish Rifles; ex-Pipe-Major Wm. McLean, Lochiel Camerons; Mr. James McLiver, Islay Association. The competitions were followed with interest by a large audience, and there were 62 pipers with 18 drummers.

The Prize Winners

These are as follows:–
Bagpipe Playing-March, confined to boys and girls, 16 years and younger (14 competitors)–1 (R. Henderson Silver Medal), Cameron Hutcheson, Dalmuir; 2. R. McDonald, Renton; 3. R. Cowie, Glasgow; 4, Miss Fitzpatrick, Partick.

Bagpipe Playing-Strathspey and Reel, confined to boys and girls, 16 years and under (16 competitors) – 1. (Handsome Sporran, presented by J. Murray), Cameron Hutcheson; 2. A. McLeod, Glasgow; 3. R. MacDonald; 3 [sic]. R. Cowie.

Piobaireachd Playing, open to amateurs– 1 (The Farquhar McRae Trophy and gold medal), H. McTavish, Glasgow; 2, A. McLeod; 3, Jas. McNicol, Islay; 4, Wm. Barry, Glasgow.

March, confined to members, amateurs–1 (The Cameron Cup and Skean Dhu), Mat. Sloan, Glasgow; 2 (silver medal), Alex. McNeill, do.; 3. R. Davidson, do.; 4, George Grant, Barrhead.

Strathspey and Reel, confined to members, (amateurs)– 1 (The Chisholm Cup and Practising Chanter, presented by Mr. D. McRae, Argyle Street), Neil McKechnie, Govan; 2 (silver medal), H McTavish; 3, M. Sloan; 4, A. MacNeill.

March (professionals)– 1, J. McDonald, Glasgow Police Pipe Band; 2, Angus Campbell, Glasgow; 3, ex-Pipe-Major John Mckenzie, Govan; 3, [sic] Philip Melville, Glasgow Police Pipe Band; 5, Hugh Kennedy, Tiree.

Strathspey in Reel– 1, J. McDonald, Uist; 2, Angus Campbell, Glasgow; 3, R. McDonald; 4, Philip Melville; 5, ex-Pipe-Major McKenzie.

Best Dressed Highlander (open)– 1, H. McTavish; 2, Pipe-Major A. McPhedran, 5th H.L.I., Glasgow; 3, Philip Melville; 4, Angus Morrison, Glasgow Police Pipe Band.

Drumming Contest (open)– 1, R. Adams, Millhall Pipe Band; 2,Laverty, 7th H.L.I., Glasgow; 3,Moir, Glasgow Police Pipe Band; 4, White, 6th H.L.I., Glasgow; 5, Ross, McLean Pipe Band.

In the drumming contest there was a great variety of beating. The first prize winner gave an excellent exhibition.

The judges for piping were ex-Pipe-Major John McDonald, 4th Camerons, Inverness; Ex-pipe-major Wm. Ross, 4th H.L.I., Hamilton; and Pipe-Major George McDonald, Millhall Pipe Band, Stirling.

The judge for drumming was Drum-Major H. Duff, 58th Cameronians, Glasgow.

At the close of prizes were presented by Mr. McKenzie, The Hotel, Lochboisdale. The judges for piping had their work cut out for them, as the piping was very keenly contested, especially in the piobaireachd event, for which there were 17 competitors. The four prize winners were very close as regards points. In the amateur events confined to members, a high standard of playing took place, the performances being up to professional standard. The juveniles’ playing was excellent, and the first prize winner gave a very good performance. The whole programme was smoothly carried out, thanks to the hard-working committee, consisting of Messrs James McIvor, H. Lothian, J. Turner, Hugh McIntyre, P. McIntyre, J. McBride, G. McDonald. Valuable help was also rented by Pipe-Major Wm. McLean, Lochiel Camerons, Mr. Callum, the secretary, and Mr. R. Mann. The President accorded a vote of thanks to the Chairman.