OT: 29 March 1924 – [unsigned] “Scottish Piper’s Association / Bagpipe Competition in Glasgow”

The Oban Times

29 March, 1924

Scottish Piper’s Association

Bagpipe Competition in Glasgow

The bagpipe competition held in the Religious Institution Rooms, Buchanan Street Glasgow, under the auspices of the Scottish Pipers’ Association attracted a large number of competitors and others interested in pipe music.

In opening the proceedings Pipe-Major William MacLean, Locheil Camerons, Stirling, made sympathetic reference to the death of Dr. Charles Bannatyne, a life member of the Association, and a recognised authority on pipe music, who was ever ready to encourage the young in the art of bagpipe playing. He was pleased to say that the Scottish Pipers’ Association was doing everything possible to encourage the playing of Piobaireachds, Ceol Mor, Marches, Strathspeys and Reels. To become a member of such an excellent Association of bagpipe enthusiasts was a very easy matter as the membership fee was a very modest one. Numerically and financially the Association was in a flourishing condition, and its membership included some of the best-known Highlanders and pipers in Scotland.

The officials of the Association were much indebted to the secretary, Pipe-Major Malcolm MacLean Currie for the excellent arrangements made.

The following were the prizewinners:–

March (confined to juveniles who never won a 1st prize at any competition), four handsome medals– 1, J.S. Burnie, Glasgow; 2. B. Ferguson, do.; 3. R. Cowie, do.; 4, J. Brassie, Lanark.

Strathspey and Reel– 1., J. Brassie; 2, J. Cowie; 3, H. Bradshaw, Glasgow; 4, P. Hay, Glasgow.

March, Strathspey and Reel (confined to amateur members)– 1. H. Kennedy, Tiree; 2, J. McNicol, Islay; 3, Cameron Hutchieson, Dalmuir; 4, R. Davidson, Glasgow.

Piobaireachd (Ceol Mor) –J. MacDougall Gillies trophy and gold medal– 1, John McL. McIntyre, Glasgow (who played “MacKay’s Banner”); 2, H. McTavish, Glasgow (“Earl of Seaforth”); 3, John Kerr, Dollar (“Kinlochmoidart Salute”); 4. H. Kennedy, Tiree (“Glengarry’s March”); 5, N. Shaw, Islay (“Groat”); 6, Cameron Hutchieson, Dalmuir (“MacLeod of Raasay Salute”).

The judges were Pipe-Major John MacDonald, Stirling, and Mr. James McIver, Govan.